You can take this business trip and shove it.

Mama’s cranky. We’re on day three of Daddy-o’s epic 10-day business trip and I’ve just about had it. Apparently, I am a crybaby and a wimp.

The last two mornings I had 8 a.m. meetings. Yesterday morning I thought it was a conference call and it wasn’t. I was the only one who wasn’t in the room…classy. This morning I made it to the meeting (after waking Boopsie from a dead sleep to get her to day care) only to learn that I didn’t need to actually be there because the topic had changed. The day didn’t get a whole lot better from there… seriously, is Mercury in retrograde or something? Maybe it’s the hair-melting heat that makes it totally un-fun to go outside. In summer. Or the IT gremlins that seem to be haunting me. (As an aside: if you are the owner of an e-mail address wouldn’t you assume that would give you rights to send e-mail from that address? Yeah, me too.)

Boopsie’s holding it together…most of the time. Tonight we tried to Skype with Daddy-o and it didn’t work because he was still mountain biking…on a mountain that didn’t have wireless. (Poor, poor Daddy-o. *sniff* Roll eyes.) The whole time I was trying to connect, Boopsie was yelling “Eh-mo! Eh-mo!” and winding up for a big fit because I made the mistake last week of showing her “I’m Elmo and I Know It.” She also only ate six bites of the pizza dinner I so tenderly provided for her (Topperstix, anyone?) and tried to run off with my debit card and my cell phone. It’s a good thing I stopped her because the last thing I need right now is an Elmo ringtone.

The punchline came tonight, though. Today we had a new water heater installed. Scratch that — today I had a new water heater installed. A water heater that I researched, called plumbers about and arranged to have installed. (I’m not just holding down the fort, I’m improving the fort, b&tch#s!) I came home early and worked from the house while the plumber installed it. It was quick and easy. Then tonight I went to take a shower and there’s no hot water in the upper level bathroom (where our bedroom is and I usually shower) or the main floor bathroom (where Boopsie bathes). There is hot water in the kitchen sink and the basement bathroom, so all is not lost….I guess. And because this is going so quick and easy, one of my parents will have to meet the plumber here again tomorrow. I can’t because I have meetings from 9-10, 10-11, 11-12, 12:30-1:30,  and 2:30-3:30. Sweeeeeeeet.

Seriously, is this week over yet?

Leave a comment

Filed under drudgery

Leave a Reply

