But I doubt I will laugh about this…

It was another wild day on the home front. Daddy-o and I had to split the day at home because Boopsie was rocking a big head cold and her daycare provider didn’t want her back until another day had passed without barfing. Oh well, just one more day for her to sleep in a crib rather than an armchair, right?

I was on a conference call when Boopsie woke up from her nap (after only 45 minutes) and she was seriously fussy. I held her and

Boopsie in a Box

Empty Cardboard Box or Awesome Reading Nook? You decide. Boopsie has already cast her vote.

shushed her through the rest of the call and then tried to get her to lay down with me in our guest room.  She would have none of that and went to get off the bed… and fell. She hit the back of her head on the hardwood floor so hard I swear my heart stopped.

I called th clinic, and they said because of her age and the height of the fall I should take her to the ER. I called my dad, who I knew was home and about 15 minutes away and said, “How fast can you get here?” I may or may not have been crying. He got to our house really fast.

We took her to an urgent care with a pediatric clinic. She was already perked up in the waiting room… pointing at fish and waving at people. They checked her out and she’s going to be ok. She has a bump and a bruise on the back of her head, which is apparently a good thing (rather than bruising on the inside, gulp.). It looks like we made it through this one… by the skin of our teeth.

The thing that kills me, is as she was climbing off the end of the bed I thought, I wonder if she can do this on her own. I bet she can. I was so wrong. And me being wrong meant she bashed her head. (I mean why didn’t I just give her a spot?). I have obviously lost my “mother of the year” nomination. And it’s only January 23.

Speaking of January, just to review:

  • Boopsie has been sick since January 6, when she got a head cold.
  • We were in Urgent Care for a double ear infection (with a 104 degree fever) last Sunday.
  • She had the stomach flu on Saturday.
  • She woke up with a huge new head cold on Sunday.
  • She’s still taking amoxicillin and hating it.
  • Today she smashed her head on a hardwood floor and we went to Urgent Care for the second time in eight days.

Poor baby.

On the upside, did you know that the box Amazon brings the diapers and wipes in makes a wicked cool reading nook?

 

3 Comments

Filed under books, medical, mom guilt

3 responses to “But I doubt I will laugh about this…

  1. This line is classic, “I have obviously lost my “mother of the year” nomination. And it’s only January 23.” Love it!

    Give yourself another year or so, and these days will seem like ancient memories. 🙂 You are smart to record them now, while it’s all fresh in your mind. I did that this year, with some of the crazier things my kids said (they’re 3 and 5) and when I went back to re-read them, I’d forgotten most, and laughed out loud at how hilarious they were!

    Glad to hear your little one is okay!

  2. Mindy

    Glad to hear she’s ok! What a scary moment for you! If it makes you feel any better I’ve also lost my mommy of the year nomination too! I did basically the same thing but on the steps. Just stood there thinking, wonder if she can do this yet…, and watched her tumble down! I felt so bad too, but she ended up ok! Hang in there! You ARE doing a GREAT job!!!

  3. Pingback: Oh dear. I did. | mmmotherhood

Leave a Reply

