WPP – Keeping My Part-Time Career Part-Time

It’s time for another “Problem White Parents Have,” or “WPP” (White Parent Problem) for short.

I have a career… and a part-time position at a Fortune 500 company. This position is funded at 60% of full-time, which equates to roughly 24 hours per week. The challenge? There’s way more interesting, challenging and demanding work than what fits in 24 hours and I’m always battling myself.

My career-minded, over-achieving side says: Work longer! Work harder! Do more! There is a lot of interesting opportunity and it feels good to accomplish things and challenge myself.

My family-minded, over-achieving side says: Do not “volunteer” for a Fortune 500 company! Go home and go for a run and make a nice healthy dinner for your family! (And take a nap if you can squeeze it in!)

I tend to struggle with this… I feel like I’m always behind somewhere. I know this is how basically every mother, and working mother feels. Not especially unique, but I actually pay for time (with a lower salary) and still struggle with looking for harmony. Juggle, juggle, juggle. What should you take away from this?

I guess that we’re all in it together. And we’re dang lucky to have jobs, eh?

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go work on my career-work…

 

Leave a comment

Filed under mom guilt, problems middle class parents have, problems white parents have

Leave a Reply

