I’m Going to Have to Learn to Control Myself

A friend brought a blog post by Lisa Bloom to my attention. It’s about talking to little girls and a it relates to the sexualization of little girls and the general American obsession with appearance.

It’s awesome. Seriously, stop reading my blog and spend five minutes to read it for yourself.

Are you back? Did you read it? What did you think?

I think I’m going to have to practice talking to little girls this way. I need to get down on their level. I need to think about what they might be interested in right away.

I am fully and completely guilty of commenting on girls’ appearance, because as Lisa Bloom says, so many of them are gorgeous, with their big eyes and soft skin. Like she says, it’s hard not to talk about how cute they are or how nice they look.

And there’s Boopsie. She’s adorable. Yes, I’m biased, but she really is adorable. It’s a topic of conversation sometimes, and lots of other people talk about how cute she is. It’s going to take some practice for me to not always tell her how cute she looks. I just don’t want her to think that is her value in the world. Here are other great things about Boopsie:

  • She is active… holy smokes, this kid can crawl, pivot on a dime.
  • She is happy, and a ham. She smiles for cameras.
  • She is “talkative” especially when she’s tired. It’s generally babble, except for the occasional “kitty” or “dada.”
  • She loves books… it’s one of the few times she’ll actually (sort of) sit still. It’s fun to read to her and fun to watch her follow along (or just turn pages).

Oh, and she’s really stinking cute. But she’s so much MORE than that. I’m a lucky mommy.

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under lessons, mom guilt, relationships

One response to “I’m Going to Have to Learn to Control Myself

  1. Pingback: One Year…. One Year! | mmmotherhood

Leave a Reply

