Put up or shut up?

For all the kazillion (okay, like nine) books I’ve read about baby sleep, I haven’t actually done that much to manipulate Boopsie’s sleep schedule, but that might be coming to an end.

When she was about 2.5 months old and about 4.5 months old, Boopsie slept through a few nights. And It. Was. AWESOME. I’ve been surprised at my ability to handle getting up a night, but I’m getting tired. Really tired. My rational self says that Boopsie, who is healthy and weighs a bit over 15 pounds, should be able to take in enough calories during the day to sleep through the night. So I think we should finally do some actual sleep training.

Right now, Boopsie is 7.5 months old. She has a really nice bedtime routine, goes to bed at about 7 p.m. and wakes up twice a night. The first time is usually between 9 and 11, and the second is anytime between 2:45 and 5 a.m. (though lately it’s been about 3 or 4 a.m.). She  eats about 4 oz or breastfeeds about 20 min (which I’m guessing is around 4 ounces) each time wakes up.

I can’t quite seem to pull the trigger though… basically I’m afraid. I’m afraid she’ll starve. (Okay, that might be putting it a little strongly, but I hate to think of her going hungry.) If we do the “cry-it-out” method, I’m afraid Boopsie will never stop crying (she’s very determined). I’m afraid it will be so much harder to try and adjust anything than it will be to just ride the inertia of our current situation. I’m afraid that whatever we try just won’t work.

So what to do? What to do? Try some actual sleep training? Or just keep riding along until she stops waking up on her own? (Hmm… I can’t really believe that will happen on its own, but maybe I should take my own advice.)

Do I put up or shut up?

6 Comments

Filed under sleep, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Put up or shut up?

  1. Liz Boyer

    Don’t do it! Don’t let her cry it out! Embrace the family bed…it saved my sanity. And it IS only a phase. And this too SHALL pass. 🙂 Hang in there, Mama.

  2. Jill

    Hi Lindsey, speaking from experience (5 children – youngest is 10 months old), I have gone through this before. Our youngest, Lizzie, finally started sleeping through the night again at 7 months (she did the sleep through the night at 7 weeks but that lasted in spurts of full nights for many months). She was on solids 3 times a day by 7 months and was drinking 6 0unce bottles of mama milk each time she ate which was about 5 times/day. I knew she was getting enough, as you feel Boopsie is now, so I turned off the baby monitor to let her moan/cry out in the middle mornings. It was difficult at first but after a couple of nights of full sleep and I’m sure she felt good too. We haven’t had the monitor on at night since and she has been fine. Luckily, we have been blessed with very good baby sleepers. I hope this advice helps you. I think all the materials I’ve read state that babies over 6 months don’t need more milk in the night hours especially if they are eating adequately during the day (as you stated as well). If Boopsie is screaming out then she does need you for some reason. Unfortunately, we don’t always know how to decode it (the cry). Maybe she needs comfort from you (nursing/closeness)….but needs to be broken from it at nighttime. Keep your head up, things should hopefully turn up and you both can get the needed rest at night. Try just rubbing Boopsie’s back (if she’s a stomach sleeper) or tummy. I know all but 1 of our children were tummy sleepers. Don’t know if you’ve try that or wanted too even though doctors don’t agree. You can email me anytime or catch me on facebook if you have questions!

    Good luck and God bless you and your family,
    Jill (Hackenberg)

  3. Yongling

    Hi Boopsie mommy,

    I honestly don’t think Boopsie is hungry…at least not the first time she wakes up. Same thing with Stefanie (who just turned 8 months 2 days ago) who still wakes up once during her 11-to-12 hour night time sleep. It’s “want” vs “need”: does she want to eat? YES; does she need to eat? Hmmm…My new pediatrician told me that for two of her children (she has 4), she simply refused to breatfeed them anymore at 15 months (during night time sleep), and then, they slept throug the night. So I am also contemplating when I should pull the trigger to “deny her nighttime food”, haha. But I am not quite there yet.

  4. If you figure it out – please let me know. I have tried water, letting him cry it out. I know it will end eventually, but I hope it does before Ellis is 18.

  5. Thank you all for the thoughts and tips… so much to think about!

Leave a Reply

