Happy Baby

Whenever people see photos of Boopsie, they often comment about what a happy baby she looks like. And when they meet her in person, they say the same thing. It’s true — Boopsie is a very happy, smiley baby. As cliched as it is, her smiles make my whole day. Her giggles send me over the moon. Hell, I’ll even do interpretive dance while singing “The Wheels on the Bus” just because it makes her laugh. I’m a terrible singer but that just doesn’t stop me these days.

When Boopsie was about six to eight weeks old, I was deeply concerned that she was an unhappy baby. Even worse, I was afraid that I was part of her unhappiness, not meeting some mystery need or not being a good mother. Worse than that, part of me felt like she could see through my “I’m a capable mother” charade and was terribly disappointed to be stuck with me as her mommy. It’s a little embarrassing to admit now, but I was honestly and truly worried.

So the next time I feel like an idiot acting out “I’m a Little Teapot,” or busting a move to “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star,” I’m going to thank my lucky stars those fears are past. And then I’m going wait confidently, knowing more smiles are coming.

Leave a comment

Filed under relationships

Leave a Reply

