Sleep Book Overload

Okay, so the whole problem with books about how to get your baby to sleep is that by the time you’re really interested in them, you are completely sleep-deprived and bleary-eyed.

When Boopsie was a four-week-old pipsqueak, she went through a phase during which she would only sleep in my arms. Truthfully, she would sleep in other peoples’ arms, but during this stretch Daddy-o was traveling a bunch so quite a bit of the holding was left to me. This brought on a feverish attempt to figure out how to “fix the problem.”*

I started reading books about baby behavior and baby sleep as fast as I could. My quest led me to:

Luckily, I’m a really fast reader. And after all that reading? She just sort of worked it out (quick! knock on wood!). Suddenly started sleeping in her crib at nigh — not all night, not all at once and she still won’t ever take more than a 40-minute nap. But what does that have to do with this blog? Well, I plan to provide summaries of most of these books over the coming weeks… so that if you have a baby putting you through no-sleep hell, you can get a sense of what one will work for you and focus on that one, rather than trying to wade through several.

*Note: There’s at least a whole post rolling in my brain somewhere about how parenthood is making me understand that there are situations I’m not going to be able to “fix”… but we’ll get to that later.

1 Comment

Filed under sleep

One response to “Sleep Book Overload

  1. Pingback: Geeking Out Over the “Sleep Plan” | mmmotherhood

Leave a Reply

